RSS

Beautiful Curls Shea Butter and Rosemary Shining Curl Oil by Alaffia

11 Feb

After the residue that the Beautiful Curls Curl Defining Gel left on my hair, I was not too anxious to place another Alaffia product in my hair.  However after reading the ingredients in this oil, I felt better about placing the oil on my natural knot nappy hair.

This 4 fluid ounce bottle with a snap cap opening  is made by a Fair Trade community of West Africa.

Back of Bottle Information

Lightweight blend of of Certified Fair trade shea butter, rosemary oil, and West African sesame oil provides deep moisture without clogging hair follicles.  Keeps waves and loose spiral moisturized, healthy and glowing.  Chamomile flower infusion adds brilliance and shine.  Scented with rosemary and ylang ylang essential oils

Instructions for Use: As a conditioning treatment, massage into scalp and smooth onto hair from roots to ends. Cover with shower cap or warm towel and leave on for 30-60 minutes. Shampoo and condition. For extra dry scalp or hair, apply between shampoo and conditioner.

Ingredients:
West African sesame oil (Sesamum indicum)
Chamomile (Matricaria recutita)
Infused Sunflower oil (Helianthus annuus)
Shea Butter (Butyrospermum parkii)
Rosemary Leaf oil
Ylang Ylang essential oil

NO MINERAL OILS
SOY & GLUTEN FREE
NO ANIMAL TESTING
NO SYNTHETIC FRAGRANCES

First of all if you do not like the smell of the Rosemary and Ylang Ylang do not use this product because it is very full of these two scents.  It is basically scented sesame and sunflower oil with some shea butter added to it.

I did some research on Amazon. com and discovered that I can purchase and essentially home make this product using a mixture Spectrum Organic Sesame Oil (8 fluid ounces @ $8.00) plus  Flora Certified Organic Sunflower Oil (17 fluid ounce @ $11.03) plus African Organic Shea Butter Oil (8 fluid ounces @ $8.00) without the fragrances or add my own essential oils.

Therefore rather than paying the suggested price of $8.99 as sold on the Beautiful Curls web site, with a small amount of measuring and mixing, I can custom blend a similar type of  Shining Curl Oil that has the benefit of being Organic and without added fragrances.

I used the Shea Butter and Rosemary Shining Curl Oil to oil my hair for a two strand twist and found after doing the braid out that my hair was extremely soft and shiny and remained soft through the day, afternoon and evening.  For me this is major plus, plus because my hair absorbs oil like a dry sponge drinks water.  So I will continue using this product but in the future I will purchase the oils from Amazon or another health food store in Organic Form so I can add my own fragrances.  For my nose the scents in this product are slightly overwhelming when it’s first applied but the smell fortunately fades during the dry.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 11, 2012 in In My Opinion Reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Beautiful Curls Shea Butter and Rosemary Shining Curl Oil by Alaffia

  1. Maia Deveyra

    July 24, 2012 at 10:46 AM

    I love to have Shea Butter. You can use it on your skin to moisturize it. the best thing about it is that it is 100% organic and natural. `’.“

    Till next time
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com“>

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

