RSS

Organic Root Stimulator Lock and Twist Gel

02 Feb

Ingredients: Water, Coconut Milk (Cocoa Nucifera Extract), Soybean Oil (Glycine Soja), PVP, Polyquarternium 37, Propyl Paraben, DMDM Hydantoin, Propylene Glycol, Fragrance,Sucrose

Cruelty Free Products.  No Animal Testing

Distributed by Namaste Laboratories, LLC Blue Island, IL 60606

http://www.organicrootstimulator.com

TWISTS WITHOUT THE FLAKES

I am doing a two strand twist out using the Organic Root Stimulator Lock and Twist Gel.

I did an air dry on my hair, the label recommends using a dryer, however I don’t have a hooded dryer and was not going to purchase one just to do this twist out. I use about 1/2 tsp amount per two strand twists. My hair is wavy in the front and straight on the ends but kinky in the back of my head. Since I was not attempting to create style but rather to check whether this product would hold without flakes, I only placed 14 twists in my hair.

My hair is slow to dry so, I  went to bed with the twists and removed them in the morning.  If this product works, then I will consider getting a diffuser for my blow dryer, that is if I can find one to fit a 20 year old K-Mart Blow Dryer.

The Organic Root Stimulator Lock and Twist Gel did not produce any flakes on my hair and did not increase the shrinkage of the hair.  It did the best job on the hair in the back because it has an extremely coarse, kinky, high shrinkage and Nappy texture.  I wasn’t please with the front part around my face, the farther the hair is from the scalp the straighter it is and this hair did not curl.  My hair did not feel soft but it was not hard and crunchy either.  I did not like to absence of shine and glossy and felt like because of the ingredients that all I had was a jar of chemical preservatives mixed into a coconut and soybean oils.

I don’t plan to re-purchase this product because I have high health concerns about using Paraben and Formaldehyde additives and preservatives.

Pros: Twists are set and the gel dries without leaving oily resident and white flakes in hair.

Cons: This is not a Fair Trade Product and Contains several non-organic preservative and additives that may pose health concerns for some individuals.

Polyquaternium-37 is a polymeric quaternary ammonium salt. Suspected to be an environmental toxin and be persistent or bioaccumulative; referenced in the Environment Canada Domestic Substance List.

Propylparaben is in the paraben family of preservatives used by the food, pharmaceutical, and personal care product industries. Parabens mimic estrogen and can act as potential hormone (endocrine) system disruptors.

DMDM hydantoin is an antimicrobial formaldehyde releaser preservative. People exposed to such formaldehyde-releasing ingredients may develop a formaldehyde allergy or an allergy to the ingredient itself and its decomposition products. In the U.S., approximately 20% of cosmetics and personal care products contain a formaldehyde-releaser and the frequency of contact allergy to these ingredients is much higher among Americans compared to studies in Europe.

Propylene glycol is a small organic alcohol commonly used as a skin conditioning agent. It has been associated with irritant and allergic contact dermatitis as well as contact urticaria in humans; these sensitization effects can be manifested at propylene glycol concentrations as low as 2%.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in In My Opinion Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Organic Root Stimulator Lock and Twist Gel

  1. Keisha

    March 9, 2012 at 1:11 PM

    I hated the ORS Lock & Twist gel. I am currently transitioning from straight to natural, and I thought this product would be good. I had the same issue as you. The gel made the back of my hair really curly, but the top of my hair straight with no curls in sight. I couldn’t even salvage my hair with a headband. It was a disaster. I wore a hat in my office all day. As I embark on this new hair journey, I’m learning that some products will and some products wont. Some products do and some products don’t. ORS Lock & Twist is a won’t and a don’t. :(

     
    • MilliePat

      March 10, 2012 at 12:59 AM

      Many products are junk in a can and unfortunately we don’t have an easy way of knowing what it will do to our hair until after it is tried on our hair. A sales associate recommended this to me when I was shopping in Sally’s. I don’t believe she ever used the product on her hair. Now I know to watch and read product labels, because if you learn the ingredients you can get a better idea whether the jar is going to work with your hair type as well as provide non toxic ingredients to the hair and scalp.

       
  2. Eliminate Excess weight Efficiently With These Ideas And Tricks

    September 29, 2012 at 6:00 AM

    Good post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Kudos!

     
  3. how to stop hair fall naturally at home

    January 4, 2013 at 9:54 PM

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your website
    in my social networks!

     
  4. Envy

    March 10, 2013 at 3:36 PM

    How can I remove the twist and lock gel from my hair

     
    • MilliePat

      March 10, 2013 at 5:41 PM

      I recommend the Kinky Curly line the Come Clean shampoo because it strips the hair and scalp of chemicals and oils then use the Kinky Curly Knot Today conditioner and de-tangler.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

